New faces on the local political scene


Voters in Emanuel County might feel like they need a weekly scorecard to keep up with politics as we roll into the summer and fall. The Georgia Presidential Primary and Emanuel County District 1 Commissioner election has just taken place. Qualifying for the Georgia General Primary/Non-Partisan Election ended Friday, March 8. The Georgia General Election is coming up on May 21, 2024, for numerous county offices, and on the national scene, the Presidential races including the Democratic Party Convention in July and the Republican Party National convention in August are all up ahead.

A recap of those qualifying for the May 21, 2024, county election includes Brandon Jones who will be unopposed for the Board of Education District 1 post. Incumbent Del Brown will face Cathi Frederickson for Board of Education District 3 and John Allen Baily is unopposed for District 7.

In the May 21, 2024, election for the regular term of County Commissioner for District 1, five candidates have qualified. Kwame Coleman, Kenny Griffin and Quin McKinney are running as a Democrat, Allen Farley will run as a Republican and Chris Jukes has qualified as a Republican. In the race for District 3 County Commissioner, four candidates are seeking the slot and will all run as Republicans. They are Nicky Alfonso, Chandra Hooks, John “Johnny” Moore and Randy Youmans.

The remainder of the May 21, 2024, ballot will feature uncontested races. For the post of County Coroner, Incumbent Jeffrey Peebles is the sole qualifying candidate. In the office of Probate Judge, a political newcomer, J. Chase Sherrod has qualified without opposition. For Sheriff, the incumbent Jeff Brewer is unopposed and for Solicitor, Cindy Delgado is the sole candidate. Incumbent Richard McNeely is the single candidate for State Court Judge, and another political novice, Jessica Underwood Moran, will have no opposition in the race for the post of County Tax Commissioner.