Emanuel County Schools Nutrition Department recognized by No Kid Hungry Georgia


The Emanuel County Board of Education met Tuesday, June 8, at the central office in Swainsboro for its regularly scheduled monthly meeting. A welcoming reception honoring the school system’s new superintendent, Scotty Hattaway, and new assistant superintendent, Dr. Denise Warnock, was held at 5 p.m. Following the reception, the board meeting commenced at 5:30 p.m. with all board members present.

Chairman Mason Henry called the session to order and welcomed all. He then gave the invocation and Johnny Parker led in the pledge of allegiance.

Consent agenda

Board members then reviewed the night’s consent agenda, which consisted of previous meeting minutes, financial reports, the annual student handbook bid and superintendent comments.

Making motion to approve the agenda as presented was John Allen Bailey. Parker seconded the motion and all board members voted unanimously in favor. Discussion of consent agenda was as follows:

•Minutes from the May 11 regular board meeting and May 19 and June 2 called board meetings were approved as presented.

•Molly Smith presented an update on financial reports, the FY22 Family Connection contract and FY22 budget. She further advised that it was the last night for board members to make revisions or to adopt the FY22 budget.

Smith later gave an update on FY21 SPLOST budget following the superintendent comments.

•Board members awarded the annual student handbook bid for the upcoming school year to Lewis Color Lithographers of Statesboro.

•Superintendent comments

1.Superintendent Scotty Hattaway recognized Chandra Hooks, executive director of school nutrition, and nutrition staff for services provided to local youth through the Seamless Summer Option program. He announced that 656 children were fed the first week, totaling to 9,184 served meals. The number of served meals for the second week was 9,702, with 693 children being fed. In just two weeks, the school nutrition department has served 18,886 meals.

Honoring the school district’s nutrition department for their efforts, Hooks was presented with the 2021 No Kid Hungry Georgia Hunger Heroes Award. The department received an appreciation plaque, certificate, and a “I am a Hunger Hero” poster.

2.A slide show presentation updating board members on Swainsboro Middle School renovations was given.

Motioning for approval of the consent agenda was Del Brown. Bailey seconded and remaining board members voted accordingly.

Executive Session

A motion to enter into executive session was made by Tanya Lane and seconded by Sandra Swinney. Upon re-entering normal session, the following was announced:

•Board members approved the employment of certified employees, Hope Barbero, Shaylin Griswold, Brice Hobbs and Clarence Taylor, teachers; and Linda Holder, 49% teacher.

•The board approved the employment of classified employees, Dorothy Washington, substitute teacher; and Ryan Hirst and Kelsey Sellers, paraprofessionals.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment