2023 ECI Middle School Honors Day


On Monday, May 8, middle school students at Emanuel County Institute were honored for their academic excellence. The ceremony began with Madison Bell welcoming everyone to the event. Slayden Lanigan then led the Pledge of Allegiance. Mrs. Elizabeth Kraus, ECI counselor, and Mrs. Sondra Cowart, intervention specialist, aided by ECI teachers, awarded the highest averages in each academic subject and middle school connections classes. Students were also honored for receiving honor and star honor roll for the year, Academic E’s, and other special awards. Mrs. Kraus awarded the top three eighth graders the Presidential Award, and Mr. Corian Roberson, ECI assistant principal, made closing remarks to those in attendance. Davis Johnson ended the program and thanked everyone for coming to celebrate the students’ successes.

Sixth Grade Highest Average

Math – Kevin Juarez-Aragon

Language Arts – Brodee Cate Johnson

Science – Kevin Juarez-Aragon

Social Studies – Camden Hall

Seventh Grade Highest Averages

Math - Lawson Frye

Language Arts – Lawson Frye

Science – Lawson Frye

Social Studies – Lawson Frye

Eighth Grade Highest Averages

Math – Madison Bell

Language Arts – Madison Bell

Science – Davis Johnson

Social Studies – Madison Bell



6th grade - Cam’ryn Silas and Taylor Hannah

7th Grade – Elizabeth Swygert

8th grade - JoAnna Arms and Aaron Spears

Physical Education

6th Grade – Jake Marsh

7th Grade – MaKaylin Mincey

8th Grade - Austin McNear

Weight Training

7th Grade – Mason Collins

8th Grade – Terence Carlyle

Math Connections

6th Grade - Hane Henry

7th Grade – Tatiana Smith

8th Grade – Madison Bell

Middle-Grade Agriculture

6th Grade – Brylie Greenway

7th Grade – Amelia Meadows

8th Grade – Clay Lawrence

Career Awareness

6th Grade - Malcolm Steele

7th Grade - Dawson Goodman

8th - Wesley Akridge

Young Georgia Authors

6th Grade – Brodee Cate Johnson

7th Grade – Lawson Frye

8th Grade – Jayden Purvis

Brodee Cate Johnson and Lawson Frye were also system winners for Young Georgia Authors.

DAR Essay Winner

6th Grade - Sheppard Purcell

7th Grade - Jackson Cavanah

DAR Youth Citizenship Medal – Madison Bell

Top Accelerated Reader - Top Middle School Reader - Andrea Crews who has read more than 4,501,010 words this year.

Mastered Most ELA Standards in IXL - Zantaven Thomas

Nordson Tech Time Challenge Winner

6th grade - Tatum Matthews

7th grade - Avery Snellgrove

8th grade - Slayden Lanigan

Junior Beta New Member Inductees

Turner Bryant, Aubree Cuneo, Camden Hall, Hane Henry, Hayden Henry, Brodee Cate Johnson, Zackary Johnson, Kevin Juarez-Aragon, Paiyzli Kellum, William Kennedy, Vaiden Kirkland, Jack Lee, Aniston O’Dell, Sheppard Purcell, Colbie Radford, Brylee Rountree, Avery Snellgrove, Judson Underwood, Skyler Walden, Chanlee Youmans

Honor Roll

6th Grade

Dylan Alford, Taylor Hannah, Hane Henry, Kevin Juarez-Aragon, William Kennedy, Vaiden Kirkland, Cam’ryn Silas,

7th Grade

Dawson Goodman, Caidence Gordon, Hayden Henry, Leta Kellum, Braylen Lanier, Evan May, MaKaylin Mincey, John Rowland Rehberg, Robert Reynolds, Ni’Lah Sapp, Anna Snellgrove, Elizabeth Swygert, Lane VanHorn, Terrance Weaver, Joni Wimberly

8th Grade

Davis Johnson, Slayden Lanigan, Clay Lawrence

Star Honor Roll

6th Grade

Camden Hall, Brodee Cate Johnson, Zackary Johnson

7th Grade

Tylaun Baker, Alyssa Barnes, Jackson Cavanah, Mason Collins, Lawson Frye, Hadleigh Henry, Isaac Hodges, Amelia Meadows, Charley Mitchell, Brylee Rountree, Cesar Salinas, Avery Snellgrove, Judson Underwood, Mary-Ella Walden, Jonna Woodward

8th Grade

Madison Bell

Academic E Awards

6th Grade

Camden Hall, Brodee Cate Johnson, Zackary Johnson, Kevin Juarez-Aragon

7th Grade

Tylaun Baker. Alyssa Barnes, Jackson Cavanah, Mason Collins, Lawson Frye, Dawson Goodman, Caidence Gordon, Hadleigh Henry, Hayden Henry, Isaac Hodges, Leta Kellum, Amelia Meadows, Charley Mitchell, John Rowland Rehberg, Robert Reynolds, Brylee Rountree, Cesar Salinas, Anna Snellgrove, Avery Snellgrove, Elizabeth Swygert, Judson Underwood, Lane VanHorn, Mary-Ella Walden, Terrence Weaver, Jonna Woodward

8th Grade

Madison Bell, Davis Johnson

Presidential Awards

Madison Bell, Davis Johnson, and Slayden Lanigan