2023-2024 Emanuel County Schools Young Georgia Authors district winners announced


Emanuel County Schools is proud to announce the district-level winners of the Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition. The Young Georgia Authors competition encourages students to develop enthusiasm for and expertise in their writing, provides a context to celebrate their writing successes, and recognizes student achievement in the arts and academics. This prestigious competition, sponsored by the Georgia Council of Teachers of English in cooperation with the Georgia Department of Education, has engaged Georgia students for over two decades. It is open to any student currently enrolled in Georgia public schools, grades K-12. Students can submit various types of writing, such as short stories, poetry, essays, research reports, and more.

The following students are the 2023-2024 Emanuel County Schools Young Georgia Author District Level Winners: Kindergarten: Rowyn Mendieta - SPS; 1st Grade: Easton Stewart - TCE; 2nd Grade: Lauren Kersey - SPS; 3rd Grade: Avery Frye - TCE; 4th Grade: Benton Claxton - SES; 5th Grade: Kayleigh Taylor - SES; 6th Grade: Sean Trevor Bragg - SMS; 7th Grade: Camden Hall - ECI; 8th Grade: Dayna Foster - SMS; 9th Grade: Grayson Brassell - SHS; 10th Grade: Lola Walden - ECI; 11th Grade: Abigail Phillips - SHS; 12th Grade: Gabrielle Collins - ECI.

These student entries have moved to the CSRA RESA region-level competition.