SECRD All-Stars Teams finish state competition


Six Swainsboro-Emanuel County Recreation Department (SECRD) teams competed for state titles after placing in GRPA District 1 Tournaments held June 6 through June 10 at various host locations. The local teams, three being softball and the other three baseball, represented SECRD well in the district level competitions, with the 8U, 10U and 12U Girls Softball All-Stars teams clinching overall championship statuses, the 10U and 14U Boys Baseball All-Stars teams placing runner-up and the 12U Boys Baseball All-Stars team finishing in third.

GRPA State Tournaments were held June 21 and June 22. The 14U Boys Baseball team competed against Glynn County at Diamond Lakes Regional Park of Augusta on June 21 and ended the season as fourth place recipients. Also competing for state titles on June 21 was 12U and 10U SECRD Baseball teams and 12U and 10U SECRD Softball teams. The 12U and 10U Baseball teams competed against Cartersville and South Bryan Co. teams, respectively, at Mill Creek Regional Park in Statesboro, with the 12U team placing fifth in state and the 10U team finishing the season as third place recipients. The 12U Girls Softball team competed against Lee County at Partin Park in Lyons and finished third in the state competition. The 10U and 8U Girls Softball teams both placed state runner up in their divisions. The 10U Softball team competed against Moultrie/Colquitt Co. at Magnolia Sports Complex in Mountrie . The 8U softball team battled the winning team of game no. 1 in their division on June 22 at Clarence E. Morgan Sports Complex in Springfield.

2022 All-Star players and coaches are as follows:

10U Baseball Team Members – Beau Andrews, Case Black, Drake Clements, Devin Cuyler, Dalton Flowers, Greyson Gowen, Maddox Hendrix, Chance Langford, Samuel Martin, Charlie McNeely, Charlie McRae, Bentley Peebles and Bryton Rowland. Coaches: Dean Gowen (Head Coach), Hugh Hendrix and Will Martin

12U Baseball Team Members – Grayson Bargeron, Ayden Bishop, Lake Bush, Landon Claxton, Logan Claxton, Cade Colston, Kamarion Dukes, Jace Farmer, Jack Evan Field, Lawson Frye, Karson Kettles, Colton Sconyers and Gannon Smith. Coaches: Jason Farmer (Head Coach), Ted Sconyers and Lincoln Kettles

14U Baseball Team Members – Kadorian Benjamin, Colton Braswell, Bryce Chapman, Luke Colston, Brent Cox, Kason Edenfield, Gauge Hall, Nathaniel Loyd, Peyton Mason, River Moxley, DJ Stanford, Cullen Tapley, Layton Terwilliger, Jeffery Webb and Juddson Wilkes. Coaches: Cory Chalker (Head Coach), Kade Youmans, Billy Chapman, Raegan Moxley and Robert Mason

8U Softball Team Members – Avery Frye, Blakely Brinson, Ella Jo Hooks, Emma Wentzel, Mylee Weber, Paisley Boynton, Eden Hudson, Weslee Fields, Zayla Smith, Analeigh Scarborough, Emma Claxton and Hadley Claxton. Coaches: Mitchell Hudson, Johnathon Scarborough, and Eric Weber.

10U Softball Team Members – Rayleigh Faircloth, Anna Grace Scarborough, Milly James Farmer, Ansley Frye, Kate Yeomans, Zoie Hooks, Mary Bess Fields, Anna Caroline Frye, Cayleigh Taylor, Genesis Reese, Evie Moore, Brooklyn Lewis and Layla Clark. Coaches: Russ Yeomans, Zac Frye, and Payton Frye.

12U Softball Team Members – Senaria Hillman, Mylie Beneteau, Tatiana Smith, Sara Smith, Jennifer Hernandez, Sophie Farrow, Aubrey Scott, Kaley Flowers, Kabreigh Hostilo, Emily McRae, Charley Mitchell, Abby Randall Lewis and Lillian Hudson. Coaches: Roy Beneteau, Daniel Flowers, and Brian Mitchell.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here