Memory Lane: Feb. 16, 2011


From the Feb. 16, 2011 edition of The Forest-Blade:

1951 State Champions!
Several members of the Swainsboro High School 1951 State Champion baseball team are A.W. Lawson, Gene Stone, Doc Claxton, Swainsboro Mayor Charles Schwabe, Cliff Walton, Frank Wimberly, and Billy Harrell. Mayor Schwabe’s father, Ed Schwabe, was the coach for this historic team. Other members were Charlie Waller, Roger “Roddy” Rich, Oscar Odum, Jack Lawson, Elwin Coleman, Sewell Youmans, Rene Kemp, Carroll Patton, and Frank Bagley.

SPS students make ‘hats’
Swainsboro Primary Kindergarten students in Ginny Smith and Yonna Bailey’s class had fun making “hats” to celebrate a learning focused on beginning sounds. The “hats” placed on their “heads” by their “hands” did not flatten their “hair”!!!


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment