Local candidates hit the campaign trail


The starting pistol has sounded, and five Emanuel Countians are off and running for the District 1 seat of the Emanuel County Commission. The election will be held March 12, 2024, with early voting beginning on February 19, 2024. The winner of this election will serve the remainder of the term of the late Commissioner Dessie Davis which ends on December 31, 2024. Candidates for the March 12 election include Kawame Coleman, Allen Farley, Kenny Griffin, Chris Jukes and Jonquin McKinney. An election for the full term for District 1, which begins in January of 2025, will be held in May, with qualifying starting March 3. District 1 is home to 2,778 registered voters. If you are not registered, you have until February 12, 2024, to become eligible to vote. For sample election ballots, you may go to www.sos.ga.gov/myvoterpage.