Jaycees hold Annual Awards and Installation Banquet


The Swainsboro Jaycees held their annual awards and installation banquet Saturday, January 9. Following a meal provided by the ‘Exhausted Jaycees Roosters’ and members of the Swainsboro Shrine Club, awards were presented to members honoring them for their hard work and dedication.

The awards presented are as follows: Outstanding Jaycee of the Year – Darren McGee; Jaycee of the 1st Quarter – Marshall Williamson; Jayce of the 2nd Quarter – James Ward; Jaycee of the 3rd Quarter – Josh Bedgood; Jaycee of the 4th Quarter – Matthew Headrick; Franklin Funderburk Award – Jenni Chalker (this award is presented to the individual for outstanding work at the Jaycees Fair); Lee Price Memorial Award – Josh Bedgood; Charlie Cowart Memorial Award – Marshall Williamson; Exhausted Rooster Award – Dave Wright; A.H.O.T.Y Award – Robert Hill.

New members were then installed and sworn in by Dave Wright as follows: Katrina Farley, Andrea Bedgood, Megan McGee, Madison Mercer, Joey Blackmon. New members who were not present were Tyler McCarty and Josh Bedgood.

The 2022 Board of Directors were installed and sword in by Wright. Board members include Darren McGee, President (second term); Marshall Williamson, Individual Development Vice-President; Joey Blackmon, Community Vice President; Joey Blackmon, Community Vice President; Tyler McCarty, Community Vice President; Josh Bedgood, Membership Vice President; Robert Hill, Treasurer; James Ward, Communications; Jamey Chalker, Fair Board Chairman; and Justin Price, Matthew Headrick, Travis Bishop and Allen Farley – Directors.

Finally, Darren McGee presented the Swainsboro Shriners a check for $500 for providing manpower for the Jaycees Fair.