Board of Education holds called meeting


The Emanuel County Board of Education convened for a called meeting on Friday, July 29, at 8:30 a.m. at the central office in Swainsboro. Board members present included John Allen Bailey, Del Brown, Phyllis Dixon, Chairman Mason Henry, Vice Chairman Johnny Parker and Sandra Swinney. Absent was Tanya Lane. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Mason Henry, who gave the welcome and invocation. Vice Chairman Johnny Parker followed by leading in the pledge of allegiance. The agenda was approved as presented and included action and/or discussion on items as follows:

Superintendent Comments

• Superintendent Scotty Hattaway announced an FY23 Kickoff event would be held at the Swainsboro High School auditorium on Tuesday, August 2. He also spoke on the following day, August 3, being the first day of school FY2022-2023.

Consent Agenda

• FY24 TCES Capital Outlay Application

• FY23 School Calendar Graduation Date Amendments (New graduation dates set for FY23) – Swainsboro High School, May 18; Emanuel County Institute, May 19.

All items listed for discussion on the consent agenda were unanimously approved by board members.

Executive Session

The board then entered executive session. Upon re-entering normal session, the following action took place:

• Board members approved the certified employment of Dana Johnson, SHS Teacher; and JT Pollock, 49% SHS Athletic Director.

• The board approved the classified employment of Amanda Atkins, Pre-K Paraprofessional; and SFS Workers: Ella Bird and Danielle Solis, SMS; Shelley Parker and April Purvis, ECI; Naomi Hackett, SES; and Amanda Mimbs, SPS.

• Board members approved certified employee resignations from Dinah Cobb and LeCarrie Palmer, SMS Teachers.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here