Middle Georgia Late Models visit Swainsboro Raceway!

by | August 14, 2018 3:33 pm


   Saturday night’s racing action began with a packed house at Swainsboro Raceway as the Middle Georgia Late Models visited the 3/8-mile oval for the first time in over 10 years. More than 100 cars lined the fields, ready for action in seven divisions.
   In the Sunoco Super Street Division, Jamie Whitaker led the field to green inside Tommy Clinard. Whitaker quickly took the lead off Turn 2, but Clinard peeked to the inside. Dusty Collins, Monk Gulledge, and Jimmy Maness battled 3-wide for fifth. Lap 3, Gulledge took to the inside of Collins in Turn 2, but Collins regained off Turn 4. Lap 4, Jamey Donaldson knocked on the rear of Clinard for second as Whitaker inched away in first. Halfway, Collins broke, losing the top five spot. Five to go, Gulledge and Bobby Oglesby continuously swapped position for fourth. Whitaker took the checkered, Clinard held on to second, Donaldson third, Gulledge fourth, and Oglesby fifth.

   Up next, Tyler Sanders pulled to an early lead over George Williamson in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior Division. Coming off Turn 4, Kip Poole, Derrick Screws, and Jaime Foskey fought 3-wide for fourth. Lap 2, Dustin Watkins got underneath Williamson to try for second but was unable to complete the pass. As Sanders led the way, second through fifth battled side-by-side for positions. Lap 4, Watkins moved into second. Halfway, Justin Williams was forced to pit, losing fourth, and Williamson pitted in third. Five to go, Poole took a hard left turn to the pits in fourth. Foskey moved into the third position, and with two to go, tried Watkins for second. Sanders returns to Victory Lane, Watkins second, Foskey third, Robbie Bland fourth, and John Lariscey fifth.

   Brad Amerson earned the heat race win in the Sharp Mini Late Model Division and took the lead at the green. Mike Wolfe, Thomas Cooler, and Jody Sparks went 3-wide for second. Lap 5, Rene Chamser worked the outside, trying for fourth. Halfway, Wolfe closed the gap on Amerson to battle for the lead. Five to go, Chamser took over fourth. Cooler slipped off Turn 2 and allowed Chamser to third. Two to go, Wolfe got inside Amerson to take the lead in Turn 3. Wolfe took the win and Amerson took second. Coming to the checkered, Chamser was sideways in Turn 2, losing third to Sparks, and Ricky Woodward picked up fifth.

   After hot lap qualifying and heat races, Cody Overton and Austin Scarboro led the Southland Insurance 602 Late Model Division to the flag. Overton quickly gassed it to Turn 1 for the lead as Tyler Mimbs snuck in for second. With only one caution, Overton sealed the deal and checked out nearly two second over second place Mimbs. Mimbs made several hard runs in the corners to close the gap, but Overton outpowered him on the straight away. Overton picked up another win. Mimbs earned second, Scarboro third, Ricky McClain fourth, and Terry Lumley fifth.

   Racing 30 laps for $2,000-to-win, the Middle Georgia Late Models took over Swainsboro Raceway with 19 drivers running 525, 604, crate late model engines. Drivers treated fans with a 4-wide tribute to legendary national late model series director Ray Miller. Fans stood on their feet in memory of dirt track legend Miller. Mark Whitener picked up the fastest qualifying time over Swainsboro birthday boy Jeremy Faircloth. Whitener pulled to an early lead. Lap 2, Chesley Dixon snuck down low to take over fourth, but Jim Rogers stayed in hot pursuit. Lap 7, Whitener was already working through lapped traffic. As Whitener stretches out, the first caution falls on Lap 21, sending the field double-file. On the restart, Dixon got a run on the outside to take second from Faircloth. Finding the high line, Jordy Nipper rolled up top, riding the rail on the outside, picking up several positions. Whitener earned the payday, Dixon second, Faircloth third, John Baker fourth, and Will Herrington fifth.

   In the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock Division, Kip Poole and Derrick Screws came off Turn 4 side by side. Poole pulled to the lead with Dustin Watkins grabbing the second position. George Williamson and Alex Sturkie moved in to battle Screws for third. Lap 2, Sturkie took fourth but slipped after a restart on Lap 4, letting Screws and Brent Herndon make the pass. Five to go, Sturkie was forced to pit with a flat. Poole continued to lead as Luke Scott and Roger McKenzie battled for fifth. Poole sat in Victory Lane once again, Watkins earned second place, Williamson third, Herndon fourth, and McKenzie fifth.

   Rolling out last, 18 Scare House of the South 440 drivers took the green with reigning points champion Rod Morris inside and current points leader Tyler Davis outside. Morris took the lead with Davis in second. Outside, Andrew Smith moved from 12th to third quickly. Reid Christensen found the outside lane to move into the top five from 13th. Cody Atkinson took fifth outside Tommy Davis. Smith quickly took the lead. Two to go, Christensen worked on Tyler Davis for third, but Davis shut the door off the turns. Coming off, with two to the checkered, Smith became off pace. Morris took the checkered, Tyler Davis earned second, Christensen third, Smith fourth, and Atkinson fifth.

   Results for Swainsboro Kart Track were as follows:

   Red Plate 1. Tyler McCumbers 2. Camden Harp 3. Trey Oliver

   Green Plate Light 1. Chase Litchfield 2. Tucker Baird 3. Brayden Upshaw

   Green Plate Heavy 1. Chase Litchfield 2. Blaze Marcus 3. Brayden Upshaw

   Blue Plate 1. Marley Meeks 2. Casie Willis

   Pro Blue 1. Casie Willis 2. Marley Meeks

   Predator 350 1. Brandon Pollette 2. Cole Reddish 3. Chris McKenzie

   Predator 375 1. Brandon Pollette 2. Wayne Edenfield 3. Johnny Martin

   Clone T3 350 1. Joseph Diekemper 2. Justin Veal 3. Ryan Adams

   Clone T3 375 1. Justin Diekemper 2. Dylan Litchfield 3. Joseph Diekemper

   Clone EL 350 1. Chad Murray 2. Joseph Diekemper 3. Justin Diekemper

   Clone EL 375 1. Joseph Diekemper 2. Justin Diekemper 3. Dusty Godbee

   Clone Super Heavy 425 1. Chris Turner 2. Rodney Marcus 3. Matt Black

   Outlaw 1. Ryan Adams 2. Daren Arkidge 3. Andy Fletcher

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Emanuel County Live