BOE recognizes Teachers of the Year

by | August 16, 2018 4:49 pm


   The Board of Education held its regular monthly meeting on Monday, August 13, at 7 p.m. Present board members were Bill Rogers Jr. John Allen Bailey, Mason Henry, and Johnny Parker, along with Superintendent Dr. Kevin Judy.

   In reference to superintendent comments:

• Teachers of the Emanuel County Schools district were awarded shirts for being nominated by fellow staff as recipients for Teachers of the Year. Upon review by the Retired Teachers Association, the following Teachers of the Year are as follows: Livia Daniel (SPS), April Woods (SES), Marci Gay (SMS), Grayson Mendieta (SHS), Adam Akridge (TCE), and Mary Rowland (ECI). Rowland was announced as Emanuel County’s Teacher of the Year.

• Chandra Hooks gave a presentation on the Seamless Summer program. She informed board members that meals were increased from 2,491 delivered lunch meals in 2017 to 5,219 for 2018, although snacks disbursed dropped from 1,082 in 2017 to 509 in 2018. She also touched base on Swainsboro High School’s farm to school project, the Tiger Barn, which currently consists of a miniature pony named Milo and a wild goat named Mocha.

• Whitney Lawrence presented the 2018 tax digest to the board.

   In reference to new business-consent agenda:

• Minutes from the July 16 and July 23 meetings were reviewed, as well as the financial reports presented by Lawrence, and the disposal of…

   To continue reading this article, purchase this week’s edition of The Blade!

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Emanuel County Live